City officials announced the 2022 recipients of the Visit Macon “Tourism Awards”

Macon, GA – According to the statement, the 40th anniversary Annual Celebration & Awards Ceremony took place on Wednesday at the Hargray Capitol Theatre in Downtown Macon.

City officials said that Lisa Lemon, Executive Director of the Ocmulgee Mounds Association; Porsha Beasley, Front Desk Manager of Tru by Hilton Macon North; and Kaitlyn Kressin, owner of Ocmulgee Brewpub, Fall Line Brewery and Just Tap’d are announced as the 2022 recipients of the Visit Macon “Tourism Awards” of Macon, Georgia.

Last year, our tourism industry saw a significant recovery from the pandemic including:

  • More than 4,600 jobs in Macon-Bibb County supported by tourism
  • Visitors spent nearly $369 million in direct spending, which was a 26.3% increase over 2020
  • Visitors contributed more than $31 million in state and local taxes
  • Every household in Macon-Bibb County saved $537.80 in local property taxes because of visitor spending

The three awards honoring these leaders in tourism advocacy include the Otis Hughes Tourism Spirit Award, the B.J. Cain Top-of-the-Line Award and – the newest addition to the distinctions – the Steven Fulbright Soul of Macon Award.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
Scroll To Top